Việt Nam and Singapore to co-host AFF Suzuki Cup 2014

AFF-SuzukiIt was announced that Việt Nam and Singapore will co-host the AFF Suzuki Cup 2014 after a meeting of the ASEAN Football Federation (AFF) held yesterday in Malaysia.

The tourney includes the participation of all 11 national teams in Southeast Asia.

This marks Việt Nam’s fourth time hosting the tournament after the tournaments in 1998, 2004 and 2010, and also the fourth time for Singapore after hosting in 1996, 2002 and 2007.

At the 2014 event, a change to the competition format will be applied, with the removal of the pre-qualifiers, meaning that all teams will partake in the qualifying round.

At the last event in 2012, Singapore was the champion after defeating Thailand 3-2 on aggregate after two legs in the finals.

Việt Nam was eliminated in the group stage for scoring just one point after three matches in group A.

Also at the meeting, the AFF announced the launch of the ASEAN Super League as of 2015.

It will be the playground for 16 elite clubs from eight regional nations including Việt Nam, Singapore, Malaysia, Thailand, Indonesia, the Philippines, Cambodia, and Myanmar.

Each team can register three non-Asian players and two other foreign players coming from within Asia.



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s